Expired Instants


Introduction - Photos


Fanés, en lambeaux ou rescapés des affres d’une mort programmée, les portraits capturés par Edouard Janssens sont autant d’instants suspendus, volés aux souvenirs, comme les fragments ressuscités d’une fresque oubliée qui dévoilerait, pudique, un pan de son histoire. Ils sont un arrêt sur le temps, un croche-pied à la fatalité et portent en germe l’espoir d’une vie à réinventer.

Eclairés d’un regard tour à tour rêveur, énigmatique ou insistant, ces visages féminins ont la grâce désuète des portraits d’antan qui gardent les secrets d’une mémoire endormie. Ils ont parfois la profondeur inquiète des êtres qui, sortis du néant, savourent, étonnés, l’image de leur improbable naissance.

Le photographe belge Edouard Janssens se prend, une fois de plus, au jeu du défi et pose l’éternelle question de l’obsolescence, dans ces instants expirés. Une série née de la magie d’une vieille boîte Polaroid et d’un matériau déclassé, périmé, dont l’artiste prend le pari de réveiller les ardeurs. A la mort annoncée d’un film instantané dont la date de péremption tient lieu de référence, se substitue, ici, la renaissance symbolique d’une femme, née à ce moment précis. La mort… la vie…, encore.

Fruits d’une connivence fortuite, ou de coïncidences programmées, ces photos aux contours aléatoires, comme des traces imprécises déposées par l’usure, traduisent, en outre, l’urgence de vivre et la précarité d’une image féminine idéalisée, dans un monde hanté par la mort et obsédé par l’éternelle jeunesse.

Expired Instants


Introduction - Photos


Faded, tattered, survivors of the death throes of built-in obsolescence, the portraits captured by Edouard Janssens are moments suspended in time snatched from the realms of memory like the fragments of a forgotten fresco coyly revealing a part of what it has to tell. They are a freeze-frame in time, an obstacle over which destiny trips and stumbles. They contain the stirrings of hope of a life to be reinvented.

The female faces, illuminated by expressions that are by turns dreamy, enigmatic, or insistent, are endowed with the old-world grace of portraits of yesteryear, preserving the secrets of a slumbering memory. Some have the troubling depth of beings who, having emerged from nothingness, savour, with astonishment, the image of their own improbable birth.

Belgian photographer Edouard Janssens is caught up once again in a game of challenge and in these Expired Instants he asks the eternal question of what obsolescence means. This series of photos is spun from the magic of a long-outdated camera and an old box of Polaroid film in a project seeking to rekindle their ardour. The stated expiry of a box of instant film, its use-by date serving as a reference, is replaced by the symbolic rebirth of a woman born at that precise moment. Death…life…the same universal themes are once again returned to.

Whether the result of chance complicity or “programmed” coincidence, these photographs, with their random edges, are like indefinite traces left by the attrition of time. They translate the urgency of living and just how precarious an idealised image of femininity can be in a world haunted by death and obsessed by eternal youth.